Recent Reviews

If you’d like to add your own review, simply click ‘Leave a Review’ on the wine’s product page.


SP16571 SP16571 Pazo de Villarei Albariño, Rías Baixas 2020

Tempting aromatics of orange blossom, plum, peach, nectarine peel and fresh herbs. Memorably bright and concentrated. - Panel Tasting

( Decanter 4th Aug 2021 )

£9.95
IT31401 IT31401 The Society's Exhibition Langhe Nebbiolo 2018

A fine introduction to the nebbiolo grape, which is often compared to pinot noir and whose most famous expression is Barolo. It’s a complex wine for the price, with touches of apple, rose, black tea and cherry. - Will Lyons

( The Sunday Times 1st Aug 2021 )

£13.95
BJ8761 BJ8761 Beaujolais Les Pierres Dorées, Cuvée Louis Dépagneux 2020

A smooth, juicy young Beaujolais hits the mark with ... aubergine kebabs - this one has bags of sweetly ripe strawberry fruit. - Susy Atkins

( The Daily Telegraph 31st Jul 2021 )

£7.95
BU78741 BU78741 Domaine Jacques Saumaize, Saint-Véran En Crêches 2019

Beautiful, bosky, unoaked burgundy, from the lesser Mâconnais, but with intense, honeyed Côte d’Or pizzazz. - Jane MacQuitty

( The Times 31st Jul 2021 )

£14.50
FC40251 FC40251 Coteaux d'Aix en Provence Rosé, Château Vignelaure 2020

I couldn't quite name the herb I kept sensing as I nose-dipped this wine. Just know there's a breeze of a herbal note nestling alongside a berry pudding and citrus. It is dry, fresh and perfectly poised for your summertime sipping. - Jane Clare

( Liverpool Echo 31st Jul 2021 )

£13.50
IT32491 IT32491 TreRè Arlùs Albana Secca, Romagna 2020

Not the most memorable name, but if I tell you this lush, Italian white (albana is the grape variety) is gloriously peachy you might - and should - be tempted. - Fiona Beckett

( The Guardian 31st Jul 2021 )

£9.95
LO15881 LO15881 Muscadet Sèvre-et-Maine sur Lie, Château L'Oiselinière de la Ramée, Chéreau-Carré 2018

... fresh, fragrant and extravagantly flavoursome ... Full of ripe, rounded orchard fruit and sharper citrus fruit flavours alongside mineral notes with just a hint of yeastiness, this has the kind of prickly acidity that will almost certainly encourage you to go into your kitchen and fry a fish. - Raymond Gleug

( Belfast Newsletter 31st Jul 2021 )

£8.50
SA16823 SA16823 Lubanzi Chenin Blanc, Swartland 2020 250ml can

Full of delicious, ripe apple and melon fruit with hints of peach and a crisp, lemon finish. - Christine Austin

( Yorkshire Post 31st Jul 2021 )

£3.95
SA17051 SA17051 Quando Sauvignon Blanc, Robertson 2020

This wine is from South Africa's Breede River Valley. Geology actually makes its homeland good chardonnay country, but cooling breezes also allow it to produce textured sauvignon blanc to rival New Zealand versions, and this one certainly does so. Smooth but rich and mellow, it provides ripe gooseberry, baked apple and tropical fruit flavours accompanied by good tangerine acidity with contrasting mint and savoury components too. - Brian Elliott

( The Daily Record 31st Jul 2021 )

£8.95
RH57801 RH57801 Côtes-du-Rhône, Bout d'Zan Mas du Libian 2019

Wine of the Week: Technically this certified biodynamic beauty is a Côtes du Rhône but it's from the far north of this massive appellation and is rather different from its southern counterparts ... a really well-balanced composite of the richness of grenache and the structure of syrah. It’s too strong, 14.5%, to drink without food in my view but would be thoroughly satisfying with a wide range of vivid flavours. I could imagine enjoying it not just with smokily barbecued meat but with highly spiced Indian or Mexican food ... I really don’t think you would be disappointed by this wine, unless you avoid 14.5% wines on principle. - Jancis Robinson MW

( JancisRobinson.com 30th Jul 2021 )

£10.50
AA3051 AA3051 Schloss Gobelsburg Riesling, Ried Heiligenstein 1ÖTW 2019

Perfumed and lovely … really very appealing indeed. Creamy and gorgeous and approachable. 17/20

( JancisRobinson.com 29th Jul 2021 )

£28.50
AA3151 AA3151 Familie Mantler Zweigelt 2019

Mid crimson. Super-fruity. And then with quite marked orange-peel sensation and acidity. Lots going on here and no great hurry to drink it! Good value. 16+/20

( JancisRobinson.com 29th Jul 2021 )

£8.50
AA3161 AA3161 Stift Klosterneuburg St Laurent 2019

Light crimson. Smells just a little 'industrial'. But good sweet cherry fruit on the palate. Not much length but certainly good value. 16/20

( JancisRobinson.com 29th Jul 2021 )

£8.50
AA3191 AA3191 Domäne Wachau 'Gneis + Löss' Grüner Veltliner 2020

Really pleasing, intense. Somehow creamy nose and very flattering while still being dry on the end. Under-priced with the potential to age. Very good value. 16.5/20

( JancisRobinson.com 29th Jul 2021 )

£8.95
AA3201 AA3201 Domäne Wachau Collection Federspiel Riesling 2020

Not the most dramatic nor purest riesling – a bit of green fruit instead. But not a bad price! Solid country riesling. 15.5/20

( JancisRobinson.com 29th Jul 2021 )

£9.25
AA3211 AA3211 The Society's Grüner Veltliner 2020

Just a little paint on the nose but excellent pure, satisfying fruit on the palate. A fair introduction to the grape variety? 15.5/20

( JancisRobinson.com 29th Jul 2021 )

£8.25
AA3221 AA3221 Bründlmayer Pinot Noir, Langenlois 2017

Pale ruby. It really does smell like a (light) mature pinot. Very delicate with fine tannins and good fruit/acid balance. Fine and lively – most like a Beaune? Really good texture and follow-through. Not a silly price by any means. Lip-smacking. 17/20

( JancisRobinson.com 29th Jul 2021 )

£25.00
AA3231 AA3231 Familie Mantler Grüner Veltliner, Niederösterreich 2020

Pepper and richness that tightens up on the end.  16/20

( JancisRobinson.com 29th Jul 2021 )

£8.25
AA3241 AA3241 Familie Mantler Roter Veltliner, Niederösterreich 2020

Robust, frank, zesty wine without perhaps a lot of polish but delivers lots of great Austrian character for the money. Good value. 16/20

( JancisRobinson.com 29th Jul 2021 )

£8.75
AA3251 AA3251 Stadt Krems Stein Riesling, Kremstal 2019

Quite rich and glamorous. For a riesling this is pretty ripe! But it’s a glorious wine for gastronomy. Such breadth and a panoply of flavours – which began in the spice rack and morphed into the fruit bowl. Very good value. 17/20

( JancisRobinson.com 29th Jul 2021 )

£13.95
AA3301 AA3301 Pittnauer Pitti Red, Burgenland 2019

Mid to dark crimson. Richly exotic nose really does suggest warm Pannonian influence. Red-fruit compote. With a zesty, lively finish. 16.5/20

( JancisRobinson.com 29th Jul 2021 )

£9.95
AA3311 AA3311 The Society's Exhibition Grüner Veltliner 2020

Organic. Youthful, pure and aromatic. Real energy here and a bit of chalky savour on the end. Still very youthful. 16+/20

( JancisRobinson.com 29th Jul 2021 )

£13.95
AA3321 AA3321 Rainer Wess Grüner Veltliner Ried Loibenberg, Wachau 2015

Lychees again and very smooth. Quite a triumph. Smooth but with power – why do I think of a tennis ball? Amazingly long. 17/20

( JancisRobinson.com 29th Jul 2021 )

£26.00
AA3361 AA3361 Stadt Krems Stein Grüner Veltliner, Kremstal 2019

Hazelnut note and creamy .... A bit solid. 16+/20

( JancisRobinson.com 29th Jul 2021 )

£16.50
AA3401 AA3401 Jurtschitsch Stein Grüner Veltliner, Kamptal 2019

Organic. Very good price for such a thrilling wine – with real nerve too! Real tingle here. So vibrato!! Bone dry and with masses of almost elderflower fruit. Very good value. 16.5/20

( JancisRobinson.com 29th Jul 2021 )

£12.50
AA3421 AA3421 Geyerhof StockWerk Grüner Veltliner, Kremstal 2020

High toned with lots of acidity. Racy and almost tart. Still quite chewy in a lemon cough-pastille way. Certainly distinctive… 16/20

( JancisRobinson.com 29th Jul 2021 )

£12.95
AA3431 AA3431 The Society's Blaufränkisch 2019

Mid crimson. Masses of youthful fruit. Chalky, still-quite-chewy finish. Strong bitter-cherry flavour – by no means unpleasant!! Impressive persistence for the price. Good value. 16.5/20

( JancisRobinson.com 29th Jul 2021 )

£9.95
AA3441 AA3441 Birgit Braunstein Pinot Blanc, Burgenland 2020

Not much nose but creamy and easy. Actually more approachable than many wines from this address. Easy-peasy. 16/20

( JancisRobinson.com 29th Jul 2021 )

£12.95
AA3451 AA3451 Heidi Schröck & Söhne 'Wine Champion' Blaufränkisch, Burgenland 2020

Bright mid blueish crimson. Attractive mineral note on the nose. Real crackling excitement here. Smooth texture and masses of pure, zesty fruit. Exciting dry finish. Very good value. 17/20

( JancisRobinson.com 29th Jul 2021 )

£9.95
SP16401 SP16401 Parcelas Ecológico Monastrell, Yecla 2019

Smooth with attractive traces of sweetness ... provides minty mulberry and blackberry flavours embellished with sage, nutmeg and aniseed elements, good acidity but limited tannin. - Brian Elliott

( midweekwines.co.uk 29th Jul 2021 )

£7.95
EN1681 EN1681 Bacchus, Chapel Down, Kent 2020

We put this wine, made with bacchus grapes, to the ultimate test: we shared it with some French wine lovers. Their opinion? They loved the fruity aroma and light (but by no means overpowering) fruitiness, the floral-themed hit of elderflower and the clean finish. Our verdict? It’s a deliciously crisp, easy-drinking wine and a great alternative to new world sauvignon blancs. - Tamara Hinson

( The Evening Standard 28th Jul 2021 )

£13.95
AA3211 AA3211 The Society's Grüner Veltliner 2020

This is an absolute joy. It starts out as a delicate pear and apple blossom tinted affair, but as the air gets to it so melon, peach stones and minerals get in on the act. And something clean and simple becomes something complex and mysterious. Amazing value. - Giles Luckett

( Lynn News 27th Jul 2021 )

£8.25
FC40521 FC40521 Mas Bres, Stella Blanc, Cévennes 2020

This good-value wine comes from the foothills of the Cévennes. It is a blend of rolle (vermentino) and Alsace stars riesling and pinot gris, making it somewhat unique for Languedoc. Uncomplicated and with plentiful fruit flavour - bang for the buck. Drink with a lazy picnic. - Sally Easton

( France Magazine 27th Jul 2021 )

£8.50
RH60221 RH60221 The Society's Exhibition Vacqueyras 2019

This is my red of the year thus far. OK, the Léoville-Barton 1982 is my red of the year, but that's £200 (I wasn't paying) so this is my affordable red of the year. This is simply stunning. If you like your reds with plenty of power, to have more fruit than Kent and more power than the Duracell bunny, then this is for you. Prunes, cherries, strawberries, herbs, minerals and a grip like a vice, this is the perfect wine for barbecued red meats. I thought this was around the £18 mark, so when I discovered it was £12.50 I bought two cases. - Giles Luckett

( Lynn News 27th Jul 2021 )

£12.50
AA3371 AA3371 Pittnauer Pittnauski, Burgenland 2015

… wonderfully mellow and mature red blend, a kind of Austrian answer to Bordeaux that punches some distance above its pricing weight. - David Williams

( The Observer 25th Jul 2021 )

£17.00
AU23571 AU23571 Whistler Wines "Shiver Down My Spine" Barossa Valley Shiraz 2019

… modern-style Aussie shiraz which puts the emphasis on silky, slinky texture and peppery berry fruit rather than all-out power and alcohol. - David Williams

( The Observer 25th Jul 2021 )

£19.50
BJ8871 BJ8871 Domaine Jean-Marc Burgaud, Morgon Côte du Py 2019

Burgaud tends his elevated, schist-soiled vineyards meticulously and his wines are defined by their purity and dark fruit on the palate. There is no oak used here, resulting in a well-balanced, medium finish. - Will Lyons

( The Sunday Times 25th Jul 2021 )

£15.50
CH331 CH331 The Society's Champagne Brut NV

A “private cuvée” created by the Champagne house Alfred Gratien for The Wine Society and a beautifully balanced drop, rich gold in hue, crisp but with a light spoonful of vanilla ice cream along with fresh citrus. Destined to give lots of pleasure at summer celebrations. - Susy Atkins

( Sunday Telegraph 25th Jul 2021 )

£34.00
GR2131 GR2131 Psarades Dafni, Domaine Lyrarakis 2020

… gorgeous lemon grove-scented Greek white. - David Williams

( The Observer 25th Jul 2021 )

£9.50
IT31401 IT31401 The Society's Exhibition Langhe Nebbiolo 2018

… manna from heaven for fans of Barolo (or Barbaresco, the home of the wine’s producer, Rizzi) - David Williams

( The Observer 25th Jul 2021 )

£13.95
NZ12421 NZ12421 Dog Point Marlborough Pinot Noir 2018

World-beating pinot – fine wine that’s totally worth splashing out on. Incredible quality. - Olly Smith

( The Mail on Sunday 25th Jul 2021 )

£25.00
PW8421 PW8421 Ponte de Lima Loureiro, Vinho Verde 2020

Young, fresh and sprightly, with a seam of spritz to give it a lovely lift, there's real vivacity to this vinho verde as it dances on the palate. Fresh aromas of lemon and lime blossom, backed by pear and stone fruits, with a happy, zippy finish, make it even more appealing. A perfectly poised Portuguese that's perfect for summertime sipping. - Sam Wylie Harris

( The Press Association 25th Jul 2021 )

£6.95
PW8581 PW8581 Rui Madeira Beyra Rosé, Beira Interior 2020

One of those rare pink wines that has more going on (texture, mineral undercurrents) than the usual pink fruit. - David Williams

( The Observer 25th Jul 2021 )

£9.95
AA3211 AA3211 The Society's Grüner Veltliner 2020

... ripe, zesty and fulsome ... This award-winning Austrian white has pronounced pear, peach and nectarine flavours which mingle most pleasingly with subtle spices on a delightfully tangy palate in this elegant, voluptuously perfumed drop which seems a natural match to mildly spiced Asian cuisine. - Raymond Gleug

( Belfast Newsletter 24th Jul 2021 )

£8.25
BW6521A BW6521A Clos Floridène Blanc, Graves 2018

Situated mostly on a limestone plateau close to the sweet wine area of Barsac, this is a half-and-half blend of sauvignon blanc and semillon that is aged in oak and has a lovely rich texture. Think lemon curd, star jasmine, oak spice and a rinse of refreshing grapefruity acidity. - Victoria Moore

( The Daily Telegraph 24th Jul 2021 )

£21.00
FC40231 FC40231 Côtes du Forez, La Madone 2020

Star buy: Rare quality find in the small appellation of Côtes du Forez, an area dominated by co-operatives.  Gamay here is grown on ancient volcanic rock producing an enchanting Beaujolais-alternative with bright enticing fruits, attractive characterful made in a light refreshing style by small biodynamic grower Gilles Bonnefoy. - Rose Murray Brown

( The Scotsman 24th Jul 2021 )

£12.95
GR1821 GR1821 Lafazanis Geometria Malagouzia 2019

Malagouzia is a grape variety here, an indigenous Greek variety and this is from the Peloponnese region. It is unoaked and quite aromatic with ripe peach and apricot fruits and citrus notes, the palate is quite broad with more ripe orchard fruits along with a definite streak of salinity and some mouth-watering acidity on the finish. It would work with a Greek salad or some simply grilled squid. This is great value and a lovely summer wine. - Alistair Gibson

( Portsmouth News 24th Jul 2021 )

£10.95
GR2051 GR2051 Kompsos Liatiko, Karavitakis 2020

It might seem surprising that Crete can make such pale fragrant delicate reds.  This unoaked Cretan gem from the liatiko grape made by revived Karavitakis winery in Chania has a strangely light onion skin colour, but taste wise it is superb with apricot, orange peel and savoury earthy notes mingling with herbs and cinnamon spice. - Rose Murray Brown

( The Scotsman 24th Jul 2021 )

£9.95
IT31401 IT31401 The Society's Exhibition Langhe Nebbiolo 2018

Big reds for high summer: In general, you can rely on anything over 14.5% falling into the full-bodied category, though, that said, I tasted [this wine] the other day, which is 15%, and you’d never have known it. (Even so, it’s a great buy if you’re looking for an affordable Barolo drinkalike.) - Fiona Beckett

( The Guardian 24th Jul 2021 )

£13.95
AA3261 AA3261 Rainer Wess Grüner Veltliner, Kremstal 2020

Still pretty youthful; I’d keep this a little longer ideally. The acidity is still pretty marked at the beginning, though there is the beginning of grüner's white pepper and dill pickle. Still a little chewy. 15.5+/20

( JancisRobinson.com 23rd Jul 2021 )

£9.95

Want more inspiration?

Sign up for a carefully-curated selection of recipes, guides, in-depth expertise and much more.

Our website uses cookies with the aim of providing you with a better service. By using this website you consent to The Wine Society using cookies in accordance with our policy.

Close

4.4. Cookie Policy

By using The Wine Society website, you agree to cookies being used in accordance with the policy outlined below. If you do not agree to this, you must alter your browser settings to turn off cookies or block those types which are unacceptable to you or cease using the website.

The Wine Society uses cookies to enable easy navigation and shopping on the website. We take the privacy of all who use our website very seriously and ensure that our use of cookies complies with current EU legislation. The following guide outlines what cookies are, the types of cookies used on The Society's website and how they work.

You may alter your browser settings to turn off cookies or block those types which are unacceptable to you, but this will cause difficulties when accessing and using some areas of the site. Instructions on how to do this can also be found below.

4.4.1. What are 'Cookies'?

  • Most major websites use cookies.
  • A cookie is a very small data file placed on your hard drive by a web page server. It is essentially your access card, and cannot be executed as code or deliver viruses. It is uniquely yours and can only be read by the server that gave it to you.
  • Cookies cannot be used by themselves to identify you.
  • The purpose of a basic cookie is to tell the server that you returned to that web page or have items in your basket. Without cookies, websites and their servers have no memory. A cookie, like a key, enables swift passage from one place to the next.
  • Without a cookie every time you open a new web page the server where that page is stored will treat you like a completely new visitor.
  • More recently, cookies have also been used to collect information about the user which allows a profile of their preferences and interests to be created so that they can be served with interest-based rather than generic information about available goods and services.

4.4.2. How do Cookies help The Wine Society?

Cookies allow our website to function effectively. Cookies also help us to arrange content to match your preferred interests more quickly. We can learn what information is important to our visitors, and what isn't.

4.4.3. How does The Wine Society use cookies?

The Wine Society does not accept advertising from third parties and therefore, as a rule, does not serve third-party cookies. Exceptions to this include performance/analytical cookies (see below), used anonymously to improve the way our website works, the provision of personalised recommendations, and occasions when we may team up with suppliers to offer special discounts on goods or services.

The Society uses technology to track the patterns of behaviour of visitors to our site.

4.4.4. What type of cookies does The Wine Society use?

We use the following three types of cookies:

4.4.4.1. Strictly Necessary Cookies
These cookies are required for the operation of our website, enabling you to move around the website and use its features, such as accessing secure areas of the website. Without these cookies, services like shopping baskets or e-billing cannot be provided. Under this heading, we currently use the following cookies:

  • Authentication Cookie and Anonymous Cookie
    These cookies remember that you are logged in to your account – without them, the website would repeatedly request your login details with each new page you visit during your time on our website. They are removed once your session has ended.
  • Session Cookie
    These cookies are used to remember who you are as you use our site: without them, the website would be unable to tell the difference between you and another Wine Society member and facilities such as your basket and the checkout process would therefore not be able to function. They too are removed once your session has ended.

4.4.4.2. Functionality & Targeting/Tracking Cookies
These cookies are used to recognise you when you return to our website and to provide enhanced features. This allows us to personalise our content for you. Under this heading, we currently use the following cookies:

  • Unique User Cookie
    This cookie is used to:
    • store your share number in order to identify that you have visited the website before. Without this cookie, we would be unable to tell whether you are a member or not.
    • record your visit to the website, the pages you have visited and the links you have followed. We use this information to make our website, the content displayed on it and direct marketing communications we may send to you or contact you about more relevant to your interests.
    • This cookie expires after 13 months.
  • Peerius Cookies
    These third-party cookies are used to provide you with personalised recommendations based on your purchase and browsing history. They expire within 4 hours of your visit.

4.4.4.3. Performance/analytical cookies
These cookies collect information about how visitors use a website, for instance which pages visitors go to most often, and if they get error messages from web pages. These cookies don't collect information which identifies a visitor. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. It is only used to improve how a website works. Under this heading, we currently use the following cookies:

  • Google Analytics Cookies
    These are third-party cookies to enable Google Analytics to monitor website traffic. All information is recorded anonymously. Using Google Analytics allows The Society to better understand how members use our site and monitor website traffic.

4.4.4.4. Authentication Cookie
In order for us to ensure that your data remains secure it is necessary for us to verify that your session is authentic (i.e. it has not been compromised by a malicious user). We do this by storing an otherwise meaningless unique ID in a cookie for the duration of your visit. No personal information can be gained from this cookie.

4.4.5. How do you turn cookies off?

All modern browsers allow you to modify your cookie settings so that all cookies, or those types which are not acceptable to you, are blocked. However, please note that this may affect the successful functioning of the site, particularly if you block all cookies, including essential cookies. For example, In Internet Explorer, go to the Tools Menu, then go to Internet Options, then go to Privacy. Here you can change the rules your browser uses to accept cookies. You can find out more in the public sources mentioned below.

4.4.6. Learn more about cookies

4.4.7. Changes to our cookie policy

Any changes we may make to our cookie policy in the future will be posted on the website and, where appropriate, notified to you by email. Please check back frequently to see any updates and changes to our cookie policy.